15 Oct 2020

London and other areas of England moved into 'high' risk Covid alert category

A number of regions in England - including all boroughs of London - have been moved from local Covid alert 'medium' to 'high'.

It will mean people in these areas cannot meet in indoor settings such as pubs and restaurants.

The following areas are subject to the tighter restrictions in an effort to curb levels of coronavirus:

  • London (all 32 boroughs and the City of London)
  • Elmbridge
  • Essex (area covered by Essex County Council only)
  • Barrow-in-Furness
  • York
  • North East Derbyshire
  • Erewash
  • Chesterfield

This means that for these areas, the following measures are in place:

  • people must not meet with anybody outside their household or support bubble in any indoor setting, whether at home or in a public place
  • people must not meet in a group of more than six outside, including in a garden or other space
  • people should aim to reduce the number of journeys they make where possible. If they need to travel, they should walk or cycle where possible, or plan ahead and avoid busy times and routes on public transport

These measures will be reviewed every 14 days to consider whether they are still appropriate.

The Government implemented a three-tier Covid alert level earlier this week in an effort to simplify restrictions.

Read the Government's full statement here

Additional Guidance and Resources